Sierra Leone gets new Map
Published On : 2017-07-30 03:59:41
<< Back to previous
President Koroma on Saturday 29th July, 2017, officially launched the new Sierra Leone Map that De Amalgamate  chiefdoms across the country.

The decision of government to launch the De Amalgamation of chiefdoms followed actions of Members of Parliament (MPs) to verbally vote, on 30th May, 2017, to unanimously pass into the law the Local Government Amendment Act 2017 that was laid before the House for debate by the Deputy Minister of Local Government, Hadiru Ibrahim Kalokoh. 


could be recalled that during the colonial era, some chiefdoms in the country were amalgamated to form units to suit the convenience of colonial indirect rule. From a total of 217 chiefdoms, there are now 149 chiefdoms. Many actors who support the De Amalgamation process said that these chiefdoms no longer have the concept of colonial indirect rule, thus justified the de-amalgamation.
Meanwhile, in an earlier news release from the Ministry of Local Government, it is stated “With the exception of few chiefdoms who prefer to remain amalgamated, a huge number of chiefdom authorities and other stakeholders in Bombali, Tonkolili, Kambia, Bo, Pujehun, Bonthe and Moyamba districts joined their counterparts in Kailahun, Kenema and Koinadugu to express their desire to cooperate with government to ensure the process is fully implemented. Speaking during consultative meetings held in various chiefdom headquarters of the districts, representatives from the amalgamated chiefdoms thanked government for the initiative.”
Furthermore, reinforcing this commitment of the Paramount Chiefs across the country, the President Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma is expected to join several traditional leaders in his home district headquarters of Makeni City, so as to, unbehalf of his government, officially launch the De Amalgamation of Chiefdoms across the county.
Primary Source: Awareness Times Newspaper
1,407 Delegates for APC Convention
Bishop Oyedepo prays for Sierra Leone's turn around
Address by His Excellency President Ernest Koroma to the nation on the flooding and landslides of 14 August, 2017
President Koroma hosts Ivorian President Alassane Ouattara
Sierra Leone-Ivory Coast-Visit Ivorian President begins two-day official visit to Sierra Leone
Sierra Leone bishops say citizen action for peace key to 2018 elections